

## WEDNESDAY, JULY 21, 2021

# 7:00PM ET VIP Reception | 7:30PM ET Program | Virtual

The <u>Global Down Syndrome Foundation</u> (GLOBAL) is the largest non-profit in the U.S. working to save lives and dramatically improve health outcomes for people with Down syndrome. GLOBAL directly supports over 200 scientists and 2,000 patients with Down syndrome. Working closely with Congress and the National Institutes of Health, GLOBAL is the lead advocacy organization in the U.S. for Down syndrome research and medical care.

Given that people with Down syndrome are at extremely high risk for COVID-19 (adults with Down syndrome are four times more likely to be hospitalized and 10 times more likely to develop adverse side effects due to COVID-19) we have decided to hold our 2021 *AcceptAbility Gala* virtually.

GLOBAL's annual *AcceptAbility Gala* brings together policymakers from both sides of the aisle, key scientists from NIH, and our Down syndrome community. YOUR support for this inspiring event allows GLOBAL to protect people with Down syndrome from COVID-19; provide world-class care to over 2,000 patients with Down syndrome from 28 states and 10 countries; and fund over 200 scientists working on Down syndrome research with a focus on Alzheimer's disease, cancer, and autoimmune disorders. With support from you and our champions, GLOBAL's advocacy efforts on Capitol Hill has resulted in a tripling of the NIH Down syndrome research budget, as well as outreach to over 14,000 families.

### 2021 HONOREES, COMMITTEES & SPECIAL GUESTS

Ambassador:

**Caroline Cardenas** 

**Quincy Jones Awardees:** 

Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Congresswoman Jamie Herrera Beutler (R-WA)

Gala Committee:

Jan Adams David Egan Natalie Farr Erin Book Mullen Matthew Perin

Cliff Riccio Julie Riccio Marissa Watkins Amy Best Weiss

Congressional Hosts:

Senator Roy Blunt Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton

Congresswoman Cheri Bustos Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Congressman Tom Cole Congressman Pete Sessions
Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro Congressman Pete Stauber

Honorary Congressional Committee:

Congressman Troy Balderson Congresswoman Jamie Herrera Beutler

Senator Michael F. Bennet
Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D.
Senator John Hickenlooper
Congressman Jim Himes

Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr

Assistant Speaker Katherine Clark

Congressman Doug Lamborn

Senator Jerry Moran

Congressman Jason Crow Congressman Ed Perlmutter

Senator Steve Daines Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard

Congresswoman Diana DeGette Senator Chris Van Hollen



### Musical Entertainment & Special Guest:

Grammy-Nominated, Multi-Platinum Singer-Songwriter Natasha Bedingfield

Dance Performances by Rhythm Xpress & Robert Wallop

#### Emcees:

Kyra Phillips, ABC News Correspondent John Roberts, Fox News Channel Anchor

#### PAST QUINCY JONES EXCEPTIONAL ADVOCACY AWARD HONOREES

Quincy Jones, Music Icon DeOndra Dixon, Dancer, Self-Advocate Timothy P. Shriver, Chairman of Special Olympics Patrick Kennedy, Former U.S. Representative Karen Gaffney, Champion Swimmer, Self-Advocate John C. McGinley, Award-Winning Actor **Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton Former Congressman Pete Sessions** Sujeet Desai, International Musician, Self-Advocate Jamie Foxx, Academy Award & Grammy Award Winner Tim Harris, Business Owner, Self-Advocate Luke Zimmerman, Actor, Self-Advocate **Kyra Phillips**, Award-Winning Journalist Former U.S. Senator Tom Harkin Congressman Chris Van Hollen **Senator Jerry Moran** Beverly Johnson, Supermodel

Brad Hennefer, Golfer, Self-Advocate Anna and John J Sie. Cable TV Pioneers Jamie Brewer. Actress. Self-Advocate Frank Stephens, Author, Actor, Advocate Eva Longoria, Award-Winning Actress Madeline Stuart, Model, Self-Advocate **Congressman Tom Cole** Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro Colin Farrell, Award-Winning Actor Zack Gottsagen, Actor, "The Peanut Butter Falcon," Self-Advocate **Congresswoman Cheri Bustos Senator Roy Blunt** Amanda Booth, Supermodel, Actress Megan Bomgaars, Actress, Self-Advocate Caterina Scorsone, Award-Winning Actress Marián Ávila, Model, Self-Advocate

#### PAST GLOBAL AMBASSADOR HONOREES

Sophia Kay Whitten Chase Turner Perry Katherine Winfield DeOndra Dixon Samantha Stevens Alex Sessions Cole Rodgers
Steven Dulcie
Katherine Felicia Norton
Clarissa Capuano
Louis Rotella IV
Marcus Sikora

Frank Stephens
Sam Levin
CC Mullen
Charlotte Fonfara-LaRose
Walt Snodgrass





